Texas Department of Public Safety
4740 Spring Cypress Rd #100, Spring, TX 77379
2 Hilbig Street, Conroe, Texas 77301
Mon, Wed, Thur, Fri, 8:00 am – 5:00 pm
Tues 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Identification requirements when applying for a driver license or identification card:
1. U.S. Citizenship or, if you are not a U.S. Citizen, evidence of lawful presence
2. Texas Residency
3. Identity and
4. Social Security Number
5. Evidence of Texas Vehicle Respiration for each vehicle you own
(New residents who are surrendering an out-of-state driver license only)
6. Proof of insurance for each vehicle you own
For a full list of documents and requirements please visit:
New Texas residents can legally drive with a valid, unexpired driver license from another U.S. state, U.S. territory, Canadian province, or qualifying country for up to 90 days after moving to Texas.
Prior to the end of the 90 day grace period, a new Texas resident must apply for a Texas license in person at any driver's license office to continue to drive legally. When applying for the new Texas license the individual must surrender any unexpired driver's license in their possession.
TWO STEPS, ONE STICKER
1. Inspection Stickers
Vehicles are no longer required to have an inspection sticker on the vehicle's windshield. The inspection sticker has been replaced by the Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR). Keep the VIR handy as it may need to be shown at the time of registration.
2. Vehicle Registration
Before a vehicle may be registered or its registration renewed, DMV or a county assessor-collector must verify that the vehicle has passed the required inspection, as indicated in the DPS inspection database. If the database information is not available, the vehicle owner may present a passing Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) issued for the vehicle, in order to complete the registration process. The VIR is not required to be carried for potential display to a peace officer except as noted for commercial vehicles.
Texas residents who own a motor vehicle are legally required to renew their vehicle registration annually. Vehicles may be registered in person, by mail, or online at txdmv.gov (participating counties only).
You must have proof of current liability insurance to be able to register or renew the registration of any vehicle in the state of Texas.
New residents have 30 days after establishing residency to register their vehicles with the state of Texas. Vehicle registration and renewals are provided by your county tax office(s) or approved substations.
400 N. San Jacinto, Conroe, TX 77301, 936-539-7897
19100 Unity Park Dr., Magnolia, TX 77355, 281-259-9805
1520 Lake Front Circle, The Woodlands, TX 77380, 281-292-3325
• You must be a U.S. Citizen
• You must be 18 years old on or before Election Day
• You must reside in the county in which you wish to register
• You must register 30 days prior to an election to be
eligible to vote in that election
• You must not be a convicted felon. If you have a felony conviction, you may be eligible if you have completed your sentencing, paid your fines, and completed your parole
• You must not have been declared mentally incompetent in a court of law.
For Information on voter registration and voting processes contact:
Secretary of State Elections Division
P.O. Box 12060, Austin, Texas 78711-2060
Voter Registrar – Isabel Longoria
P.O. Box 3527, Houston, Texas 77253-3527
Voter Registrar – Suzi Harvey
P.O. Box 2646, Conroe, Texas 77305-2646
Texas Democratic Party
P.O. Box 116, Austin, Texas 78787
Texas Republican Party
P.O. Box 2206, Austin, Texas 78768
Harris County Toll Road Authority
EZ Tag Information:
1417 Spring Cypress Rd, Spring, Texas 77373
2901 W. Sam Houston Pkwy N, Houston Texas 77043